ABSA special collection at the
National Agricultural Library (NAL)

This collection contains conference, administrative, and publication records for the American Biological Safety Association. Materials include photographs of conference attendees (with captions), conference publications, membership directories, ABSA newsletters, ABSA governing laws, digital copies of "Safety Bulletin," and administrative files for ABSA regarding conference planning, annual meetings, membership, meeting minutes, newsletters, and the Arnold G. Wedum Memorial Lecture materials.

Historical Information

The American Biological Safety Association (ABSA) was founded in 1984 to promote biosafety as a scientific discipline and serve the growing needs of biosafety professionals throughout the world. However, the discipline of biosafety has a much longer past. For a fascinating look at the history (and pre-history) of ABSA, please refer to these articles from JABSA (Journal of the American Biological Safety Association):

Songer Bibliography (MS Access Database 14.5MB)

ABSA Past Presidents

1985   Everett Hanel
1986   Jerry Tulis, PhD
1987   Jonathan Richmond, PhD, RBP
1988   John H. Richardson, PhD, RBP
1989   Joseph Songer
1990   Diane Fleming, PhD, RBP, CBSP
1991   Emmett Barkley, PhD
1992   Gerald Spahn, PhD, CBSP
1993   Jerome Schmidt, PhD, CBSP
1994   Mary Cipriano, RBP, CBSP
1995   Manny Barbeito, CBSP
1996   Byron Tepper, PhD, CBSP
1997   Joseph Van Houten, PhD, RBP, CBSP
1998   Richard Knudsen
1999   Marilyn Misenhimer
2000   Jack Keene, DrPH, RBP, CBSP
2001   Debra Hunt, DrPH, RBP, CBSP
2002   Maureen (Best) Ellis, RBP
2003   Barbara Johnson, PhD, RBP
2004   Stefan Wagener, PhD, RBP, CBSP
2005   Betsy Gilman-Duane, RBP, CBSP
2006   Glenn Funk, PhD, CBSP
2007   Bob Hawley, PhD, RBP, CBSP
2008   Chris Thompson, RBP, CBSP
2009   Bob Ellis, PhD, CBSP
2010   Ben Fontes, MPH, CBSP
2011   Karen Byers, MS, RBP, CBSP
2012   LouAnn Burnett, MS, CBSP
2013   Barbara Fox Nellis, SM(NRCM), RBP, CBSP
2014   Paul J. Meechan Ph.D., MPH, RBP, CBSP, SM(NRCM)
2015   Marian M. Downing, RBP, CBSP, SM(NRCM)
2016   Melissa Morland, MS, MBA, RBP, CBSP

Calendar Members Only